Hours of operation:

CLOSED: Monday & Tuesday June 17 & 18, 2024: Eid Al-Adha

CLOSED: Wednesday June 19, 2024: Juneteenth

Monday through Friday: From 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM.

For submitting formalities from 9:00 AM until 2:00 PM.

Formalities with the required documentation will be turned around on the same day.

Closed on national and federal holidays (check our holiday schedule)

notice regarding formalities

Only money orders payable to the Consulate General of Lebanon are accepted for all formalities.

-All applications must include the required documents.

Reacquiring Lebanese Citizenship

Dear Fellow Lebanese,

We would like to inform you that the Lebanese pertinent authorities, pursuant to Law # 41 “Reacquiring the Lebanese Citizenship” dated November 24, 2015, have started taking applications from members of the Lebanese diaspora to reacquire the Lebanese citizenship. The said Law stipulates that applications should be submitted before November 25, 2025.

Applications will be considered by a committee within the Ministry of Interior and Municipalities of Lebanon. Applicants can appeal the decisions of the said committee within a month from the time they are legally notified of such decisions at the address they specified in their applications.

Persons eligible to apply should have their names or the names of their paternal ancestors, or male relatives on their father’s side, listed on the records of the census of  1921 – 1924, either residents or immigrants registers, and/or the records of the census of 1932, immigrants registers, available at the Ministry of Interior and Municipalities.

Please click on the link below to learn more about the requirements.

Click here

Diplomatic Pouch

For information on the status of your registration by family name, kindly select the following link:


Consulate General of Lebanon

9 E. 76th St.
New York, NY 10021

Tel:  (212) 744-7905
Fax: (212) 794-1510

(please check the “about the consulate” section for more contact details)

Hours of Operation: 

Monday through Friday:

From 9:00 AM until 3:00 PM.

Closed on national and federal holidays

(check our holiday schedule)


Connecticut (CT)

Delaware (DE) 

Maine (ME) 

Massachusetts (MA) 

New Hampshire (NH) 

New Jersey (NJ) 

New York (NY) 

Pennsylvania (PA) 

Rhode Island (RI) 

Vermont (VT)